State of Texas Benefits
There are many benefits to working for the State of Texas and with the Texas Facilities Commission.
New employees to the State of Texas have a 90 day wait for health coverage. After that time, the state pays 100% for a full time employee's health coverage and one half of the premium for a part time employee. Dependent coverage is also offered and the state pays part of the premium. Other insurance benefits include dental coverage, disability coverage, term life and accidental death and dismemberment. There is no waiting period to enroll in this coverage. Full time employees earn 96 hours of sick leave each year of state service and will earn a minimum of 96 hours a year of annual leave. As employment service continues, an employee's annual leave accrual increases and the employee may also be eligible for longevity pay. The State Auditor's Office maintains the State Holiday Schedule.
State employees are required to participate in the retirement program after a 90 day waiting period. State statute allows for the purchase of this waiting period service at the "actuarial present value" at a later date. The employee contributes 6% of their gross salary to the retirement program and the state matches the employee's contribution. The retirement program and insurance program are administered by the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS). Supplemental retirement plans are also available through a Deferred Compensation Plan (457) and Texa$aver (401K).
For information on training and development opportunities for TFC employees, please refer to our Training and Development policy.
For more information, call the Texas Facilities Commission Human Resources office at 463-3433.